Tauchplätze auf Koh Tao - Lighthouse Bay

Lighthouse Bay liegt an der Nordostspitze von Koh Tao und wurde nach seinem kleinen Leuchtturm benannt, welcher stolz auf der Spitze der Felsklippen sitzt.

Dieser Tauchplatz bietet eine exzellente Alternative für einen flacheren Tauchgang. Die Maximaltiefe berägt rund 14 Meter, was die Bucht ebenso zu einem perfekten Schnorchelplatz macht. Dschungel-Felshänge mit üppiger Pflanzenwelt kreieren ein wunderschönes Bild von Koh Tao.

Aufgrund seiner geschützten Lage sind Sichtweiten hier normalerweise für die meiste Zeit des Jahres hervorragend, perfekt für Unterwasserfotografen, welche ihre Fertigkeiten testen wollen. Die Ausnahme besteht in unserem Nordost-Monsun von Ende Oktober/Anfang November bis zum Neujahr, wenn Bedingungen erforderlich machen, an der Westküste Koh Taos zu tauchen.

Die Korallen in Lighthouse Bay sind prachtvoll mit einigen der besten Tischkorallen, welche Koh Tao zu bieten hat. Die vielen Geweihkorallen und Riesenfassschwämme bieten den kleineren Riff-Fischen eine sichere Umgebung zum Aufwachsen. Eine endlose Zahl von Spiralfiederwürmern beleuchten den Tauchplatz mit ihren Farben.

Papageinfische in Regenbogenfarben und getigerte Rotbrust-Lippfische schwimmen über den Sand auf der Suche nach einem Snack. der auffällige Wimpelfisch schwimmt in Pärchen herum, während die farbenprächtigen Kaiser- und Falterfische ihren Teil zu einem Riff beitragen, an dem es sich an einem guten Tag wie in einem Aquarium anfühlt.

Lighthouse hat viele Prachtanemonen, welche sich selbst an die Felsen geheftet haben. Schaut etwas näher und ihr könnt die kleinen pinken Anemonenfische sehen, die hier leben und sich vor Feinden verstecken. Im Flachwasser werdet ihr fast immer auf einen Schwarm von Gelbschwanz-Barrakudas treffen, welche die Felsen langsam umkreisen.

Wenn ihr Zeit habt, könnt ihr ein wenig aus der Bucht herausschwimmen, hier gibt es einige größere Felsen mit einer guten Chance, einige Blaupunkt- oder größere Tüpfelrochen zu finden. Achtet hier auf patrollierende Riesen-Drückerfische – es ist faszinierend, ihnen bei ihrem täglichen Kampf zuzusehen, wenn sie ihr Territorium verteidigen, kommt nur nicht zu nahe.

Koh Tao’s Tauchplätze

Chumphon Pinnacle Tauchplatz Koh Tao

Chumphon Pinnacle

View more
Sail Rock dive site koh tao thailand

Sail Rock

View more
Southwest Pinnacle dive site koh tao thailand

Southwest Pinnacle

View more
HTMS Sattakut Wreck diving koh tao thailand

HTMS Sattakut Wreck

View more
Shark Island dive site koh tao thailand

Shark Island

View more
twins dive site koh tao thailand

Twins Pinnacles

View more
Japanese Garden dive site koh tao thailand

Japanese Garden

View more
White Rock dive site koh tao

White Rock

View more
Hin Pee Wee dive site koh tao thailand

Hin Pee Wee

View more
Hin Wong Pinnacle dive site koh tao thailand

Hin Wong Pinnacle

View more
Mango Bay dive site koh tao thailand

Mango Bay

View more
Laem Thian dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Laem Thian

View more
Lighthouse Bay dive site koh tao thailand

Lighthouse Bay

View more
green rock dive site koh tao thailand

Green Rock

View more
Aow Leuk dive site koh tao thailand

Aow Leuk

View more
Junkyard Reef dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Junkyard Reef

View more
Tanote Bay dive site koh tao thailand

Tanote Bay

View more
Red Rock dive site koh tao thailand

Red Rock

View more
Buoyancy World dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Buoyancy World

View more
Potteries and Three Rocks dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Potteries Pinnacle & Three Rocks

View more

Koh Tao Diving - Lighthouse Bay

Lighthouse Bay is located on the North Eastern tip of Koh Tao and is named after the small lighthouse which sits proudly on top of the bays cliffs.

This site offers an excellent alternative for a shallow water dive. The maximum depth is around 14 metres making it a great place for snorkelling too. The bay itself boasts stunning views with its steep jungle slopes full of lush vegetation highlighting the beauty of Koh Tao.

Due to its sheltered location, visibility here is normally good for the majority of the year round making it a great spot for budding underwater photographers to practice their camera skills. The exception is during the north east monsoon from late October /early November until early in the New Year when the conditions usually determine that we dive on the west side of Koh Tao.

The coral at Lighthouse Bay are magnificent with some of the best table corals the island has to offer. The many staghorn corals and big barrel sponges provide the smaller reef fish a habitat in which to thrive. There are an abundance of Christmas tree worms for divers to be amazed as their colours light up the dive site.

Rainbow coloured parrotfish and tiger striped red breasted wrasse shuttle around on the sand looking for a snack. The striking Longfin bannerfish swim around in pairs, while the beautifully coloured angel and butterfly fish add to the reef making it seem on a god day as if you are diving inside an aquarium.

Lighthouse has many magnificent anemones that have attached themselves to the rocks. Look closely and you will see cute pink anemone fish living here, hiding from potential predators. In the shallows it is very common for Yellowtail Barracuda to school swimming slowly in circles around the top of the corals.

If you have time you can swim slightly round the corner, here there are some large boulders that give divers a good place to find blue spotted or Jenkins Whiprays. Watch out for patrolling Titan Triggerfish they are a fascinating fish to watch as they go about their daily chore and defending their territory, just don’t get to close.

Koh Tao Dive Sites

Chumphon Pinnacle dive site koh tao

Chumphon Pinnacle

View more
Sail Rock dive site koh tao thailand

Sail Rock

View more
Southwest Pinnacle dive site koh tao thailand

Southwest Pinnacle

View more
HTMS Sattakut Wreck diving koh tao thailand

HTMS Sattakut Wreck

View more
Shark Island dive site koh tao thailand

Shark Island

View more
twins dive site koh tao thailand

Twins Pinnacles

View more
Japanese Garden dive site koh tao thailand

Japanese Garden

View more
White Rock dive site koh tao

White Rock

View more
Hin Pee Wee dive site koh tao thailand

Hin Pee Wee

View more
Hin Wong Pinnacle dive site koh tao thailand

Hin Wong Pinnacle

View more
Mango Bay dive site koh tao thailand

Mango Bay

View more
Laem Thian dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Laem Thian

View more
Lighthouse Bay dive site koh tao thailand

Lighthouse Bay

View more
green rock dive site koh tao thailand

Green Rock

View more
Aow Leuk dive site koh tao thailand

Aow Leuk

View more
Junkyard Reef dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Junkyard Reef

View more
Tanote Bay dive site koh tao thailand

Tanote Bay

View more
Red Rock dive site koh tao thailand

Red Rock

View more
Buoyancy World dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Buoyancy World

View more
Potteries and Three Rocks dive site crystal dive koh tao thailand

Potteries Pinnacle & Three Rocks

View more